Monthly Archives: November 2013

Episode 29 – All That Glitters Has Been Sold

It is officially the end of November, and I am delivering yet another music packed episode of The Noize Faktory. I use the music just so you don’t get to overwhelmed listening to me ramble about bands, and the all important things happening in the pop culture world!

Hour 1 – The Black Star Riders open the show this week, carrying on the Thin Lizzy legacy, followed by some stuff from Coverdale/Page, and a killer track from Heart from their DESIRE WALKS ON record from the early 90’s.  Billy Idol’s “Body Snatcher” shows just how strong Billy’s last real studio offering was, and the good news is that he is working on another new album as I type.  Tunes from Black Stone Cherry, Derek Sherinian, Deep Purple, Faith No More, Guns N’ Roses, and a cool Pink Floyd cover featuring Bobby Kimball from Toto, Bob and Bruce Kulick on guitars, Mike Pocaro on bass, and Greg Bissonette on the drums brings the hour to a close.

Hour 2 – We open this hour with the Screaming Eagles, you guys should check this album out, its called FROM THE FLAMES, and is one of my favorites of 2013.  I play you a track from a new band called Hobo Graffiti, which is a cool, rockabilly, punk, rock fusion kind of thing, and an incredible new track from Leslie West featuring Johnny Winter called “Busted, Disgusted, Or Dead”.  I also stock this hour with tracks from AC/DC, Joe Perry Project, Tesla, Hurricane, Year Long Disaster, and Dream Theater.

Hour 3 – The Temperance Movement gets this hour started with a track from their debut album, and I include a bootleg live track from the Scream in this hour as well.  I play you another great track from Taddy Porter and songs from Rival Sons, Robin Trower, Pat Travers, Montrose, Kiss, Queensryche, and a early track from Monster Truck which you can pick up on their website.

Episode 28 – This Empty Heart Keeps On Beating

Hour 1 – This week Monster Truck opens the show with “Old Train”, and the hour just keeps on rollin!  Scorpion Child, Slave To The System, Leslie West, Nugent, Tesla, The Cult, Badlands, and Def Leppard fill the hour.  I close the hour with the song that made me go out and buy a Great White album for the first time, “House Of Broken Love”.  This tune has some great guitar work, and an inspired vocal, they were a great rock and roll band, which was rare at the time.

Hour 2 – Alter Bridge opens the hour with a new track called ” Cry Of Achilles”, followed with some new Queensryche, these two bands go well together.  I also dig back into the 70’s for some truly underrated tracks from The Sweet, Blue Oyster Cult, and Ace Frehley.  Then onto today!  The Temperance Movement, Rival Sons, and StoneRider put on display just how strong some of these new underground rock and roll bands are, and mainstream radio needs to start paying attention.  I close this hour with a track from Union called “Let It Flow”.  These guys are one of the most under appreciated rock bands of the last 30 years, their two studio albums truly should have been big hits.

Hour 3 – Van Halen, The Winery Dogs, and Slash open the hour with some strong guitar work.  Then we roll into Joe Bonamassa, John Norum, and Jake E. Lee, lots of guitar heroes in this hour.  Rainbow, Queen, and Whitesnake are featured in the last block of this weeks show, and we end with a little hilarity from Sam Kinison.

Episode 27 – From Calmness To Deranged

Three hours of kick ass rock and roll, just as advertised!

Hour 1 – We open this show with a little Anthrax, and power through with some classic Dio, and early Kiss.  I share another new track from Leslie West’s new CD, featuring Dee Snider as a guest vocalist, a little ZZ Top, and another great track from the Winery Dogs.  BBM, Cheap Trick, Black Country Communion, and some Ian Gillian era Black Sabbath round out the hour.

Hour 2 – Monster Truck opens the hour with their first single from FURIOSITY, “Sweet Mountain River”.  I also have another new track from The Temperance Movement in this hour along with some great stuff from Slash, StoneRider, Cry Of Love, Tangier, Aerosmith, Cactus, Cinderella, and a burner from Corrosion Of Conformity.

Hour 3 – A little bit of Ozzy Osbourne starts this hour, followed by the Scorpions and Motley Crue.  We do a little block of cover songs for you featuring Alice Cooper, Dokken, and Ace Frehley.  Followed by a live block of tracks from some of the all time best live albums, Live At The Fillmore from Humble Pie, Live & Dangerous from Thin Lizzy, and Strangers In The Night from UFO.

Episode 26 – A Year Of Music In Review 2013

Welcome to The Noize Faktory.  This week is a special one, as we take a look back at some of the best releases of 2013.  This year we have a huge selection of great releases, new bands, classic bands making triumphant returns, solo releases, and even a few super groups.  The most important thing is that we have some really solid albums with lots of great songs to enjoy, and the next three hours are full of them!

Hour 1 – This hour starts our strong with “Hitman” from Twenty Two Hundred, and we just keep rolling from there.  Back from the dead Ugly Kid Joe, a return to his early solo work for Rob Zombie, the cream of the super groups from the Winery Dogs, a massive return for Deep Purple, and a very personal solo release from Oliva. One of the new bands that gives us hope Scorpion Child, Wolfmother’s leader Andrew Stockdale, Northern Ireland’s Screaming Eagles, and the amazing Todd LaTorre fronted Queensryche.

Hour 2 – Black Sabbath’s “Damaged Soul” starts off the hour, from their first album with Ozzy on vocals since 1979’s NEVER SAY DIE.  Alice In Chains comes up next followed by a track from the new Alter Bridge album FORTRESS.  I give you another track from the brand new Leslie West album STILL CLIMBING, followed by Black Star Riders, and one of my favorite new bands Monster Truck.  Another important new band The Temperance Movement kicks off the next batch of songs, along with Pat Travers Band, and Cinderella’s Tom Keifer, and the hour concludes with the title track from Orchid’s new album “Mouths Of Madness”.

Hour 3 – This hour we open with Sweden’s Bad Barber, who should have their first album out sometime early next year, be on the look out for that.  Kadavar takes over, leading into the Walking Papers.  We have a couple of more acoustic based tracks from Todd Kerns and his BORROWING TROUBLE CD, followed by Slash and Myles Kennedy with “Nothing Left To Fear”, and a cover of Bill Withers’ classic “Ain’t No Sunshine” from Black Label Society from their Unblackened release.  We close the show out with The Dave Rude Band, Brian Tichy’s S.U.N., Stone Temple Pilots with Chester Bennington, and Voodoo Six.

Episode 25 – Duff McKagan Of Walking Papers

Hour 1 – This week Duff McKagan, best known as the bassist for Guns N’ Roses, Velvet Revolver, and now Walking Papers joins us via telephone.  We spend the hour talking about his band Walking Papers, and digging into the the amazing album.  It was an honor to have Duff spend some time with the Noize Faktory.

Hour 2 – I give you a little recap of Eddie Trunk’s big 30th Radio Anniversary party, and we start the hour off with some tracks that the all star cast performed for Eddie.  New music from Stone Temple Pilots with Chester Bennington, Monster Truck, and the amazing new band The Temperance Movement.  I round out the hour with Alice Cooper’s “Halo Of Flies”.

Hour 3 – We open the hour with an incredible new track from Leslie West, from his new CD, STILL CLIMBING, the track is called “Tales Of Woe”.  Music from John Norum, Richie Kotzen, Blue Murder, Ozzy, new Queensryche, Savatage, and more fill the hour.